About Us

The Koontz Lake Regional Sewer District was created by Indiana Department of Environmental Management as an agency of local government under Indiana Code (IN 13-26).

The system cost of $10,200,000 was financed though the USDA Rural Development with a $4.6 million grant and $5.6 million loan.

The construction of sewage collection and treatment infrastructure began in 2011 and went into operation in 2012.

The District is governed and managed by a seven member Board of Trustees. Board members are property owners within the district boundaries, appointed for four year terms by county government agencies of both Starke and Marshall Counties.

The mission of the Koontz Lake Regional Sewer District shall be to provide the community with a safe, effective wastewater infrastructure and to manage the system such that its current costs are kept to a minimum while maintaining a sound financial base to assure that its operation is sustainable for generations to come.